Showing posts with label shoutouts. Show all posts
Showing posts with label shoutouts. Show all posts

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Alive in Jo'burg / Subscribe to J.T.'s blog

District 9 is coming out tomorrow and I'm really looking forward to seeing it! I probably shouldn't have but I've read a lot of articles (reviews, background info) on this movie and I hope I didn't spoil it...



The movie is based on Director Neill Blomkamp short film called Alive in Jo'Burg. Peep the vid below...



Speaking of movies, my friend/brother/comrade, J.T., just set up a blog talking about any/everything related to movies. Although its in the beginning stages, but knowing J.T. he will keep you entertained and keep you thinking w/ post to come. So check out/comment/subscribe/follow my brother from another mother's blog out HERE

Monday, December 15, 2008

The real world...year 1.

This time last year I was walking across the stage and beginning the next chapter in my life...Post undergrad, welcome to the "Real World"...

I can't believe it has already been a year...and its crazy how much has changed since then...

Do I miss the days of undergrad...yes and no...the social scene was cool and I had a lot of fun...but I hated the homework, test, papers, long nights in McNair studying...basically everything I did in school that was graded on a scale of 100.

times flies...

Candace Johnson (Miss NC A&T SU 07-08) and me at graduation, December 15th 2007...


SHOUTOUT TO ALL THE AGGIES THAT GRADUATED THIS PAST WEEKEND!!!!!! BIG UPS, YOU MADE IT!!!!!

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Big ups to Blackbird!


Filled out a survey and got $500...no lie. Check it out here. Who would have thought...

But if you check the prices of some of clothing they have...I probably will not get much...but its all good! Thanks again BLACKBIRD!

Sunday, June 15, 2008

what'd ya say?!?

i apologize for the explicit language.


"If you can dance, you can f**k. [white] girls try to dance all smooth like a snake. They do it like thissssss (reenactment)....i can't get down w/ that...I DON'T WANT TO F**K A SNAKE, I WANT TO F**K A HO!!!!"
~DJ

-You can take em' out the hood but...



"WTF?!? This is un-be-liev-ABLE!!!" (my disbelief after game 4 of the NBA finals)
~yours truly

"D@MMIT...SH!T...WTF...THAT'S BULLSH!T MAN!!!!"
~my bro (while playing Call of Duty 4)

N: "You are always talking about me..."
A: "Huh??? What???
N: "Talking about this or that..."
A: "No i don't wait a min....Could you be, the most beautiful girl in the world? Plain to see...."
N & A: LOL

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Prince = 50


the artist once formerly known as a symbol but now known as Prince turned 50 the other day, June 7th. I pretty sure his hip surgery didn't slow him down any and he was probably crawling on the ground with doves flying around and partying it up like its was 1999.

The Suite Theme

MEME Rules:
1. Put Your itunes/ music player on Shuffle
2. For each question, press the next button to get your answer.
3. YOU MUST WRITE THAT SONG NAME DOWN NO MATTER WHAT
After you’ve answered all of the questions, tag 5 other people and then let them know they’ve been tagged to do the meme themselves!

With over 7500 songs on my Zune this is what I came up with...

-IF SOMEONE SAYS “IS THIS OKAY?”, YOU SAY?
WHY GEORGIA - JOHN MAYER (ROOM FOR SQUARES)
???

-WHAT WOULD BEST DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONALITY?
POWER TO LOVE - JIMI HENDRIX (BAND OF GYPSY)
"WITH THE POWER OF SOUL ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE"

-WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A GUY/GIRL?
HELL FOR A HUSTLER - 2PAC (STILL I RISE)
???

-HOW DO YOU FEEL TODAY?
MONEY WON'T CHANGE YOU - JAMES BROWN (FOUNDATIONS OF FUNK)
"Money won't change you, But time will take you on"

-WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE?
LORD KNOWS - 2PAC (ME AGAINST THE WORLD)
yes he does...send me a sign, shoot me an email, txt, sumthin'!

-WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO?
ALL I EVER WANTED - LENNY KRAVITZ (MAMA SAID)
Yea I pretty much have all I ever wanted...well I always wanted ______

-WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU?
BLING (CONFESSION OF A KING) - THE KILLERS (SAM'S TOWN)
Really?

-WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR PARENTS?
RAINDROPS AND SUNSHINE - SMASHING PUMPKINS (VH1 STORYTELLERS)
I hope this means that I bring sunshine on stormy days...and not the other way around.

-WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN?
DROPPING BOMBS - SO. SENTRELLE (THE SHOW OTS)
"I'm a lover not a fighter..." ~Michael Jackson

-WHAT IS 2+2?
BULLETPROOF...I WISH I WAS (THE BENDS)
I thought the answer was 4...i hate math!

-WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND?
GLASS - THE SMASHING PUMPKINS (MACHINA II)
Huh?!? Transparent and easy to break...nah i definitely don't think that.

-WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
JUST BECAUSE - NIKKA COSTA

"I take you in and I hold my breath
Try to save the time that's passing by
And if you came to say goodbye
A thousand summers would never dry
Every tear that touched my face
And they don't laugh the way you do
And they don't smile the way you do
And their eyes don't shine the way yours do
I love you just because..."


-WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY?
THE WAY THINGS ARE - FIONA APPLE (WHEN THE PAWN...)
this song = heartbreak ≠ my life story

-WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP?
MISTY - DONNY HATHAWAY (EVERYTHING IS EVERYTHING)
I think what i want to be is "Misty"/unclear b/c I have a 1,000,000 + 1 things that I want to be when i eventually grow up.


-WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
WORKOUT PLAN - KANYE WEST (COLLEGE DROPOUT)
I definitely don't think this when I see you, I love you the way you are and besides you know I don't like skinny b!tches.

-WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU?
COME AND GO - 50 CENT
Yea, this is pretty much what my pops did...f*cker!

-WHAT WILL YOU DANCE TO AT YOUR WEDDING?
HELLO - MAROON 5 (FRIDAY THE 13TH)
OASIS COVER, how do you dance to a rock song or can you???

-WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL?
BUTTERFLY - MARIAH CAREY (BUTTERFLY)
I was hoping for something a little harder than this...

-WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST?
SPOTTIEOTTIEDOPEALICIOUS - OUTKAST (AQUEMINI)

"When I first met my SpottieOttieDopalicious Angel
I can remember that damn thing like yesterday
The way she moved reminded me of a Brown Stallion
horse with skates on smooth like a hot comb
on nappy ass hair..."

-WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET?
NOT GONNA CRY - MARY J. BLIGE (WAITING TO EXHALE)
If I tell you what I think this means then it wouldn't be a secret...

-WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS?
MY LIFE AND TIMES - ZWAN (UNRELEASED)
Yea, my friends (past, present, and future) are and make up My Life and Times...

"My life in the morning sun
My life in the speeding car
Too much to lose..."

WHAT SHOULD YOU POST THIS AS?
THE SUITE THEME - MAXWELL (URBAN HANG SUITE)

tagging future bloggers: xanthia, karla, and taylor. GET ON IT!!!

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

what'd ya say?!?

Gas stations are like F' it, we aint buying that shit either!!
~a. wike

niki: yeah mark ronson said she (amy winehouse) wasn't ready to make an album.
me: she can't make an album, she couldn't make music if she wanted to, how can you grab the mic if you fingers look like cigarette buds?!?

niki: my humps, my humps...my lovely little lumps! yeah i don't know why fergie is talking about that, she does not have any humps....lumps...
me: nah she doesn't....looks like someone hit her a$$ w/ a textbook....BLAH-COW!!!!

james: man these taxes are killing me! i need to claim some(body) kids or something....
me: yeaaa-nahh, i'll just pay the taxes...

yeah i just wanted to do hood rat stuff with my friends.
~latarian milton



me: i would've beat his (latarian) a$$ right there w/ the cameras on...on film!
niki: armon you can't do that...
me: sheeettt! says who? and it wouldn't have been like i was beating him like he was my kid, i would have fought his a$$ like he was a stranger.

Monday, May 19, 2008

The potential blog names.

prepare yourself this is a long post but i think its good...

to karla, xanthia, taylor and who ever else is thinking about starting a blog...

A few of my friends have come to their senses and are finally starting a blog! Big ups! But they are having problems coming up w/ a name. At first I was like c'mon it can't be that hard...just think of a sentence or rhyme from a movie, song, etc...

Then I started to reflect on how I came to my eventual blog title and the problems I had w/ coming up w/ a name, direction, flow...

After looking through a few boxes of my past life (in G'boro, 02' - 07'), I came across a sheet of paper w/ a few scribbled names and explanations entitled "Possible names for my blog" I probably did it in Biology class or something. Well, here are a few of those titles...

1st up...

1. UberPooper.blogspot.com
uber - (according to the urban dictionary) the ultimate, above all, the best, top, something that nothing is better.
pooper - (one of my definitions) i'm so fly i sh!t on these n!gg@s.

Yeah I know, it doesn't make sense but it sounded good and for about 2.6 seconds it was a winner. also i always liked the word poop. not sure why?

didn't use this b/c: it was one of the those "WTF" names.


2. MyLastSummer.blogspot.com
summer - a chance to relax and chill, a break from hw, text, and spelling bee's, no more long nights in the library for me! but then there is always a moment during the summer, usually at the end, when you get bored and can't wait for school to start...not b/c you miss the work but b/c you miss all the other extra circular activities (friends, parties, food fights in the cafe, fashion shows at the b-ball game)...and then a month in to the semester you wished it was the summer again.

i kinda liked this possible title and since my blog was suppose to document my last semester in college (and possibly academia), i was trying to capture that bittersweet moment at the end of the summer (academia) when your anticipating the end, trying to enjoy the last days, and trying to get prepared for whats ahead...

didn't use b/c: came close but i figured that i would/might use the blog after i graduated and i wanted the title to be more universal and not limited and it sound like a movie (w/ a beginning, middle, and end). i think i'm gonna use it for something else.

3. TheLastKidPicked.blogspot.com
This one reminds me of my childhood. I remember being one of the last kids picked in the neighborhood basketball pickup games, not b/c i couldn't play but b/c i was the smallest kid out there. Instead they would pick Joe, the 6 ft. 5th grader...can't really blame em', he couldn't play worth a sh!t but he could grab rebounds like a mother! But that's why i made it a point to be one of the first kids to shoot for captain...guaranteed playing time!

Eventually when the other kids saw that I could play and I had heart...I wasn't the last kid to be picked, I ended up being the second to last kid picked.

decided not to use this one b/c: its a band in new hampshire...and they have a blog by the same title.

and finally

4. MyPlasticGlasses.blogspot.com
i always get compliments on my glasses but this wasn't always so. my older glasses were like coke bottles...if you wore them you could probably see into the future.

a few yrs ago my friend and brother helped me pick out a new pair of glasses. Apparently, the pair I had on weren't a good representation or reflection of my personality or who I was. They were right. I remember, putting on my new glasses and it was like...it was like I had an aura of coolness around me. Glowing like Carlton w/ Will' chicktionary. YES!!!!



Might have not been the best of but it is what I decided to go with.

This blog ended up not being about my last semester but more of a (personal and eventually public) journal of my life and things that I see on a daily basis...from my perspective, through my plastic glasses...

So to those who are still trying to find a name for their blog, the name isn't really important so much as the content and the direction that you want to go. The good thing about blogging is that you can put what you want up here and make it reflect you. I tried to come up w/ the coolest, bad a$$ title for my blog and trust at first I was like man this title sucks! I should change it to this or to that...but now, I think it is cool not b/c of the name itself but everything else and what it has become (to me, to you)...hope that/this makes sense...

Monday, May 12, 2008

what'd ya say?

*I once wrote a poem about you on a $1 bill in hopes that one day it will end up in your wallet.
-post secrets (check it out)

*refering to skin tone...
Armon was right next to the ac, I (karla) was in the house but near the front door, and he (D.J.) was in the fields...leading the hymnals...
-karla

*find your voice instead of being an echo...
-cornell west

*schmoobie woobie
-niki

*everyone asked: armon what happened to your hand?
here are a few of my responses:
fact
-i was making jello and in the process, i spilled the hot water on my hand. the jello was delicious though...

fiction
-yea i need to quit watching porno's in high def.
-uh i was bare nuckle boxing match and it got a little bit outta hand...(no pun intended)
-this biotch was trippin, i couldn't help it i had too! man never back hand anyone w/ braces...outcome not good.
-this is my bowling arm...


me: i'm so glad to be here...
niki: dido

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Friday at Strip

pics from a regular friday w/ extraordinary ppl.

taken from xanthia's camera...glad she had hers, b/c i left mine like a dumba$$...

not sure who's food or where its from but it sure looks tasty...



a drunk white women, who second profession is palm reading...whats your future lookin' like karla?



she looks kinda like martha stewart...
us watching martha stewart and karla...
d.j. was inspired by the palm reader and decided to give it a try...



xanthia



a mojito...it was aight...had better...






karla
"Yeah, Yeah, get that pool symbol right there, exclusive..."

xanthia's victory dance? not sure...cool pic though


gangsta, gansta

Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Riverview Reisling

sorry i know it took me forever....

riverview reisling

thats a hand and a foot...not two hands...lol...




karla and xan, window shoppin'


"Yo, where's Stacey???" xan was moving so fast that pic came out in a blur...

karla was movin' too...

Caught ___ing in the bushes...







Sunday, April 27, 2008

Friday, April 18, 2008

kanye x nike

In what amounted to a ridiculous amount of press over Kanye West's Nikes worn at the Grammys, Kanye West was spotted wearing a new colorway of his fabled Nikes on his Glow in the Dark Tour. Straight from Kanye's mouth has slated they will see a retail roll out but no word yet on a date.



On the heels of the latest developments regarding Kanye West's exclusive Nikes, comes a full blown detail shot of one of the most mysterious and anticipated sneakers in recent memory. The visible Air unit high top features perforated leather and a patent leather strap.


good look alex!

what'd you say?!?

turtle tracks!
-xan

It was...DELICIOUS!
-me

I can't taste the ranch but the buffalo is in full effect!
-karla

Less history more mystery!
-dr. drew

cam: curved line = smile...that's so obvious.
me: obviously not if you have to explain it...

funds down.
-j. riley

high fidelity

i finally hooked up my record player the other night and listened to a few oldies that i brought back from home.

here are a few records that i pick'd up:
otis redding - Anthology
sly stone and the family - Greatest Hits
whitney houston - Whitney Houston
eddie murphy - Party All the Time
diana ross - Silk Electric
allman brothers - At Fillmore East Live
michael jackson - Thriller
donny hathaway - In Performance
ike and tina - Live! The Ike & Tina Turner Show

whats the first record i put on you ask?!?

"EDDIE MURPHY - Party All The Time" this is my sh!t right now...lol...




what the classic music vid here -> link

then i put on the ike and tina record. although there relationship isn't much to be desired, the music they made and the performances that they did were unbelievable and it shows in this live album.

i guess i lost some friends on the eddie murphy record huh ola? lol...

Sunday, April 13, 2008

in g'boro, on b.s.

good times in greensboro.